Just Do It.

June 26, 2012 § 2 Comments

You know that old adage about the only way to conquer your fears is to face them? I gotta say, I couldn’t agree more.

If you’re a regular reader of my blog, you’ll know that I am not skilled at cooking. I was not blessed nor trained with the ability to bring complimentary flavours together or create a gourmet entree from a counter full of ingredients. I am, 100%, one of those buy-the-sauce-and-add-the-chicken kinds of girls. Initially, I was terribly intimidated by certain undertakings, namely roasting a turkey, baking a pie or making cabbage rolls.

Roasting a turkey was an immense milestone for me. While I have always enjoyed hosting family gatherings, every Christmas or Thanksgiving I would leave the turkey roasting to my older sister, mother or grandmother. I would volunteer for Easter dinner and bake the ham!

Baking a pie was naturally intimidating given my grandmother’s great talent.  It didn’t matter what flavour, apple, pumpkin, lemon meringue…the bar was set very high.

And cabbage rolls. I had tasted them, loved them, but didn’t grow up eating them, so they always seemed a far off achievement.  I had heard about the women in Italian families getting together for an afternoon to make cabbage rolls, which translated in my mind as a lot of difficult work, if so many hands were required to assemble them!

As I was assembling my first set of cabbage rolls this afternoon (on my own, using a recipe from my new favourite website:  MennoniteGirlsCanCook.ca), it occurred to me, how bigger the task had loomed in my mind than it actually turned out to be.  I could picture in my mind the proven “cabbage rollers” I knew, commenting about how easy it was, and teasing me at how long I had waited to conquer the task.  Yep, just plain silly.  37 years old and never made a cabbage roll. I could think of worse things.

Like making it to 30 before I attempted a turkey, or 25 before I took a crack at a pie.

Bottom line, give it a go. What’s the worst that can happen?  Now, onto skydiving.

Just kidding.

Tagged: , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Just Do It.

  • Diana Dart says:

    Ugh, not a fan of cabbage rolls. But roasted turkeys and pies sound just dandy!

    Love the message to get up and do it, already! Life’s short. And sometimes you have to open the doors to opportunity before it knocks.

    Now about that pie you promised…

    Like

  • Kirsten says:

    Wow, you don’t do anything small: cabbage rolls, turkey and a pie?! You could have started off with… soup 😉

    My mother was adopted by a Ukranian woman who married into an Italian family. Nothing tops her cabbage rolls. If you’re looking for a buckle-at-the-knees recipe to conquer next, come see me. (How’d yours turn out, btw?)

    Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Just Do It. at Budding Wisdom.

meta

