Why Ya Gotta Be So LOUD?

June 13, 2012 § Leave a comment

You may not know this about me, but I am a Taylor Swift fan. Not just because I have kids that enjoy her music, but because I enjoy her music! I enjoyed it long before they did. And I like Justin Bieber too, so there!

Ahem, so, point made, moving along…one of my favourite songs by Ms. Swift is from her Speak Now album, and it’s called “Mean”.  Those who know it, know it it is a terrific song, and very catchy. You can listen to it here if you’ve never heard it.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jYa1eI1hpDE

Anyways, the main line in the song is, “Why ya gotta be so mean?”.  I often hear myself saying, ironically quite loudly so as to be heard over the din, “WHY YA GOTTA BE SO LOUD?!” as one or all of my four children run screaming up and down the hallway, around the island in the kitchen and jump off the top of a short flight of stairs to pretend they can fly. It occurred to me recently how great it would be to modify the words of Taylor’s song, and who better to have the material for it than a stay-at-home mom with four kids! So I did it. And here it is. Enjoy!

You, with your piercing screams
And shouts and cries that you hurt my ears with
You have got me screamin louder than you
Just so I can be heard, now
You, with your voice like gulls on the beach
on a hot day in the summer
You, making me a deafer mom

You can take me down with just one single screech
But you don’t hear, no, you don’t hear…

Someday I’ll have ear plugs that really do work
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Someday silence will be my biggest job perk
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Why you gotta be so LOUD?

You, with your boisterousness,
And your bangs and thuds and your pandemonium
You have drawn me to the edge again
As if I don’t already teeter
I walk with my ears plugged
Trying to block you out ’cause I’ll never supress you
I just wanna feel the calm again

I bet you got pushed around
your siblings stole your toy
But the cryin’ ends right now
‘Cause you must stop this tidal flow
time out you go, time out you go…

Someday I’ll have ear plugs that really do work
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Someday silence will be my biggest job perk
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Why you gotta be so LOUD?

And I can see me moments from now in my room
Sneakin’ a chapter from my book
With that misconception that
I’m off duty for a bit
Wrung out and weak from all the racket and wailing
tired and grumbling on about how I can’t think
But all you are is LOUD

All you are is LOUD
And intense, and chaotic, and deafening

And LOUD, and LOUD, and LOUD, and LOUD

Someday I’ll have ear plugs that really do work
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Someday silence will be my biggest job perk
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Why you gotta be so LOUD?

Someday I’ll have ear plugs that really do work (Why you gotta be so?..)
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD (Why you gotta be so?..)
Someday silence will be my biggest job perk  (Why you gotta be so?..)
And all you’re ever gonna be is LOUD
Why you gotta be so LOUD?

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Why Ya Gotta Be So LOUD? at Budding Wisdom.

meta

