How to become a SuperMom

November 1, 2010 § 1 Comment

Familiar with the expression “fake it till you make it”? That’s how.
I’m going to let you in on a little secret. I was not born a Supermom. In fact, I only have one, low ranking (on the scale of superpowers anyway) superpower.
It’s not hair cutting (as evidenced by my poor pre-schooler’s most recent look and knicked ear); it’s not fashion (if I ain’t leavin’ the house, the pj’s stay on!); it’s not even endurance (I still sneak an afternoon nap in whenever the opportunity presents itself).
I was also not blessed with the super powers that normally guarantee Supermom status, such as cooking or sewing, nor did I receive much instruction on these areas growing up (unless of course you count Grade 7/8 Home Economics class, which sadly, IS in fact where I draw many references from when I try to tackle a project in these areas). No, I rely on my sole superpower (which by the way, every Mom has at least one) and that is resourcefulness.
Despite my shallow list of the skills listed above which normally accelerates supermom status, I have been able to put together an impressive resume of themed children’s parties, uniquely shaped birthday cakes and Halloween costumes, thus bolstering my supermom credentials….all in the name of resourcefulness.
Case in point…this year’s Halloween costume for my seven year old son, who has recently developed an obsession with the computer game Plants vs Zombies. His Halloween costume request: a three headed pea shooting plant named Threepeater. I used my most keenly honed motherly wiles to try and persuade him to choose zombie instead of plant (hobo jacket, pair of ripped jeans, a little face makeup and we’re done!). Unfortunately his beautiful brown puppy eyes and fierce confidence in my abilities (“I know you can do this Mom!”) got the better of me and now I’m faced with the opportunity to put another notch in the Supermom belt.
Here’s the plant he wanted to be for Halloween:

Yikes right? As I said to my son, “it’s not even a human shape!”

Here’s what I did:

Step One: Study the picture and wait for inspiration. Inspiration didn’t show up, so I showed the picture to other people for ideas. After a bit of brainstorming and epic contemplation (in the shower, before falling asleep at night, while doing the dishes …”how the heck am I gonna tackle this?”), I had a vision starting to develop in my brain.
Step Two: Visited the local Lens Mills Store to secure materials for my vision but ended up seeing other inspirational materials that lead to a second, far more practical vision.
Step Three: Stopped at Michaels to grab a couple items needed for the second vision and refused to pay their ridiculous prices. Left with nothing.
Step Four: Made my own materials from obscure things I forgot I had been saving in the closet for just this sort of opportunity (read: leftover Styrofoam from new couch bought over a year ago and those blasted twist ties they use to package toys).
Step Five: Went back to Michael’s with my freshly printed 40% off coupon to buy a glue gun (for all you moms that can’t sew, a glue gun is our salvation).

Step Six: Combined the materials from the Lens Mill Store with my homemade materials and a glue gun, and voila! Three headed plant (pea shooting capabilities sold separately).

Tagged: , ,

§ One Response to How to become a SuperMom

  • Cara says:

    That is awesome! Don’t you just love it when you totally wing something and it all comes together much better than planned! As a mom of 4 myself, I fake it a lot too! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to become a SuperMom at Budding Wisdom.

meta

